

Minutes Extraordinary Commission Meeting 3 February 2023 | 1:35pm | Online

Present:

- Prof Ray Murphy (Chair) (RM)
- Prof Caroline Fennell (CF)
- Michael Finucane (MF)
- Dr Salome Mbugua (SM)
- Sunniva McDonagh SC (SMcD)
- Dr Lucy Michael (LM)
- Colm O'Dwyer (COD)

Apologies:

- Sinéad Gibney, Chief Commissioner, (SG)
- Heydi Foster Breslin (HFB)
- Jim Clarken (JC)
- Dr Frank Conaty (FC)
- Tony Geoghegan (TG)
- Adam Harris (AH)
- Prof Kathleen Lynch (KL)
- Dr Rosaleen McDonagh (RMcD)

In attendance:

- Michael O'Neill, Head of Legal
- Louise Moloney, Minute taker

An Extraordinary Meeting of the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission took place online between 1:35pm and 1:45pm on 3 February 2023.

1.1 Apologies, Quorum and Declaration of Interest

Apologies were noted from SG, HFB, JC, FC, TG, AH, KL and RMcD. There were no declarations of interest and the meeting was quorate. In the absence of the Chief Commissioner, Prof Ray Murphy chaired the meeting.

2.1 Amicus Curiae – C.W. v The Minister for Justice & Ors.

The Counsel opinion was taken as read. The Commission agreed to seek leave to intervene as amicus curiae in the above named case.